The Australian exchange began as six separate exchanges established in the state capitals Sydney, Hobart, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth.

Nowadays, the primary Stock Exchange in Australia is the Australian Stock Exchange (ASX).

At the end of 2004 it was the 8th largest world equity market (on free float basis), comprising around 2.2% of the MSCI World index. Market turnover during 2004 was $A779bn.

The premier market indicator is the S&P/ASX 200.

The S&P/ASX 200 is an index made up of the top 200 shares listed on the Australian Stock Exchange.


Want to test drive an Offshore Trading Platform for Australian markets?